Nice and Cheesy at the Darien Diner!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Darien Diner, 171 Post Rd, Darien, CT

www.prdfamily.com

Sorry we haven’t posted for two weeks 😦  I have been SO busy with stuff, like school, sports and I went to visit my grandma in Lancaster, PA (I’ll be telling you about that later!).

Two weeks ago, we wanted to try Swanky Franks, a legendary Norwalk hot dog place that is now serving breakfast – but – they were closed until 11 AM on Sundays, so, we went to the Darien Diner instead!  And it was good!  I had been there before for dinner with my friend Alexander, but was my first time for breakfast.

The Darien Diner has been there from the 1960’s and it has been owned for 4 years by the same people who own the Post Road Diner! It’s a masterpiece for decorations!  Like the Post Road Diner it has lots of cool cars and old Coca-Cola merchandise.

I had the “Kitchen Sink” Omelet which had everything in it but the kitchen sink! Get it? It was VERY cheesy, at one point I took a bite and got a HUGE “cheese pull”  — that’s what my friend Dave Straiton (who is a BIG TV Director) told me that they call that in the TV commercial business!  Here’s a picture of my cheese pull:

I talked to the assistant manager, Jimmy and asked:

What is your favorite item for breakfast?

He said “I really like the Breakfast Sandwich, but everything here is really good and made fresh”.

The Darien Diner is also really great for dinner —  especially their burgers and shakes!

The Sunday Diner Rating (out of 5)

FOOD  * * * * * (5)

SERVICE  * * * * *  (5)

LOOKS  * * * * * (5)

BATHROOM: * * * * *  (5)

6 thoughts on “Nice and Cheesy at the Darien Diner!

  1. Alex you are becoming quite the gourmet and budding food writer. I really enjoy your descriptions and wish I could come all the way from Los Angeles to try every one.

  2. Great photo coverage to go with your review. That Kitchen Sink looks like enough for two. You know when the bathroom gets a 5, the food his sure to follow!

Leave a Reply

