The Early Bird… Catches The Tweats!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

The Early Bird Cafe, 88 Danbury Road, Ridgefield CT

Be Sure To Visit The Early Bird Cafe on Facebook

Happy New Year! Welcome to our second year of Sunday Diners!

Let’s kick off 2012 with the Early Bird Cafe in Ridgefield, which has been open for over 20 years. The first thing I noticed when I walked in the door was the great holiday decorations and TONS of crayon drawings and art by kids. Which makes sense, because there were a TON of kids there!

The Early Bird has an open kitchen, so you can see the cooks… cook and even though it was crowded, we were seated quickly and got right down to business.

I had chocolate milk (which was freshly made) and for breakfast I had The Peanut Butter Chocolate Chip Pancakes – which were awesome – and tasted just like Reese’s Peanut Butter Cups!!! — YUM!  I also had a side of bacon, which was very smoky and reminded me of the smoky flavor of the Hibachi Grill dinner I had over the holidays at Fuji Japanese Restaurant in Darien.

I spoke with China, our server and asked her a few questions…

What is the most popular breakfast for kids?

She said, “Kids love the Mickey Mouse Pancakes, which are shaped like Mickey Mouse and are served with fruit”.

I also asked her, what her favorite breakfast “Tweat” was, and she answered, “The French Toast, which is SO good”.

Our final question, was about their great holiday decorations.  I asked her if they decorate the cafe for all of the holidays.

She told me that, “Yes we do, we decorate for all of the holidays, on Easter we even have a GIANT Easter Bunny. Our owner, Judy Cusack, loves to decorate and comes in early at around 4:30 in the morning to decorate the restaurant”!

Thanks China! I’m definitely going to come back to check that bunny out!

The Sunday Diner Rating (out of 5)

FOOD  * * * * * (5)

SERVICE  * * * * * *  (6)

LOOKS  * * * * * (5)

BATHROOM: * * * * * (5)

A Perfect Score… Plus Extra Credit! 🙂

PS: Here’s a picture of me at Fuji of Japan over the holidays which is also super fun for kids!

Me at Fuji of Japan!

4 thoughts on “The Early Bird… Catches The Tweats!

  1. Looks like a nice place. I’m not so sure I about the peanut butter pancakes..the French toast may be more to my liking. Terrific job as usual.

Leave a Reply

