THE NEW CANAAN DINER IS AS GOOD AS APPLE PIE… AND JUST AS FILLING!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

New Canaan Diner, 18 Forrest Street, New Canaan CT 

Visit The Post Road Family Of Diners Website

Welcome to our first post after a little break… After our trip to Block Island, I’ve been super busy – I visited Lancaster County… was on the news… started 4th Grade… began Fall baseball season… And now I’m even playing in a chamber group with my friends from music class!

So, we really wanted to make today’s post extra special.

Today, we visited The New Canaan Diner and brought my oldest friend Brandon as our special guest – I’ve known Brandon since I was ZERO YEARS OLD!  We first met as babies – and he is one of my best friends. He also likes to eat too!

The New Canaan Diner is one of the three Post Road Family of Diners, and it’s the baby of the family… it’s only two-and-a-half years old, but the food is just as good as the other members of the family… and so is the style of the diner.

The diner is very classic but it is modern and new.  It’s a retro-style diner with lots of cool old signs and 1950’s style things like toy cars, old Coca-Cola stuff and even the ceiling fans look like old airplane propellers – cool!

Today Brandon and I had the Apple Pie French Toast which is French Toast made with Challah bread, topped with Warm Fresh Apple Pie Filling and a little Whipped Cream.  We both gobbled it down… but not all of it… because… IT WAS SO FILLING!  (get it?).  We also had a side of Bacon, and split some Scrambled Eggs – the bacon was not as crispy as I like it, but it tasted good.  We also had Orange Juice – which tasted like the orange in a creamsicle.

I asked Brandon, what he thought about the New Canaan Diner:
He said, “I would definitely come back with my family… the food was really good… and the bathroom was really clean.  The service was fast, which is also good… one time I was in Rhode Island with my family and it took almost 2 hours for the food to come out!… and they didn’t even come out to check on us!… that wouldn’t happen here.”

I also spoke to John Gallo, the manager at the New Canaan Diner who has worked for the Post Road Family of Diners for 11 years and asked him, “Why did you open the diner in New Canaan when you already have a diner in Norwalk and Darien?”

He said, “First off, I wish I could say I owned the place, but I don’t.  I have worked for the family who are really nice for a long time… they decided to open in New Canaan, because a lot of customers told us that there wasn’t a good diner in town, so the owner opened up 2  years ago and business has been great.”

I asked what his favorite breakfast was and told me that he “LOVES the Breakfast Burrito!”

I love Breakfast Burritos too — maybe we can try that next time!

A BIG thanks to Brandon for being my special guest today and to Ruth for being such an excellent server!

The Sunday Diner Rating (Out of Five)

FOOD  * * * * * (FIVE)

SERVICE  * * * * * (FIVE)

LOOKS  * * * * *  (FIVE)

BATHROOM: * * * * * (FIVE) *

* They really had a clean and awesome bathroom!

2 thoughts on “THE NEW CANAAN DINER IS AS GOOD AS APPLE PIE… AND JUST AS FILLING!

  1. Pingback: QUICK BITES! ROMANICCI, THE GINGER MAN, GUVNOR’S BREWERY, CAFÉ TURNIER AND… THE I-95 REST STOP! | Sunday Diners

Leave a comment