SILVER STAR DINER IN NORWALK – WHERE EVERYONE IS FAMILY!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Silver Star Diner, 210 Connecticut Avenue, Norwalk CT

Like Silver Star On Facebook!

Everything about the Silver Star Diner is BIG!!!  The Diner is Big!… The Menu is Big!… The Portions are Big! Even the Maple Syrup is Big!!

But, even though it’s a big place, the service and the people make you feel like you’re in a small family place.  That’s because Silver Star is a family owned business.

The diner is 33 years old and was started by 3 brothers, Andy, Taso and Alex Savvidis.

All of their children have worked at the diner and so have other relatives.  Many of the other employees who are not in their family, have worked there for so long – they’re practically like family now too!

Because the menu is so huge, I wanted to try something I’ve never had before… so today, I had Cheese Blintzes Topped with Apples, Raisins & Cinnamon it was like having apple pie and cheesecake for breakfast! To drink… Dad let me have a small Chocolate Milkshake, because I heard they were really good.  I’m usually not allowed to have something like that, because it’s basically having ice cream for breakfast… and that’s not healthy… but Dad let me try it but only because he said it was “research.” I’m happy to report that it was delicious.

I spoke to Tonia Kalmanides our host who in 2 weeks will also be part of the family (her fiancé, Dimitrios is the owners son!) and asked, “The menu SO HUGE here, how many items are there?”

She told me, “There are over 400 items on the menu.  You can choose from Eggs all the way to Steak and Lobster.”

I also asked Tonia, “What is her favorite on the breakfast menu?”

“I love the Hash and Eggs and the Eggs Benedict too!”  She also told me that they serve breakfast all day.

One other fact about Silver Star, is that they have amazing desserts!  They are baked in the basement — and like everything else at Silver Star — THE DESSERTS ARE BIG TOO!

Everyone at Silver Star was so nice, like Andy our waiter and Dimitrios  who let me pick out a dessert. I chose a piece of Strawberry Cheesecake which is their specialty.  I’ll probably have that tonight… after dinner!

The Sunday Diner Rating (Out of Five) 

FOOD * * * * * (FIVE)

SERVICE  * * * * * (FIVE)

LOOKS * * * * *  (FIVE)

BATHROOM * * * * * (FIVE)

One thought on “SILVER STAR DINER IN NORWALK – WHERE EVERYONE IS FAMILY!

Leave a Reply

