CM GOURMET MARKET AND CAFÉ IN WESTPORT IS MORE THAN JUST CHOCOLATE… (BUT DEFINITELY HAVE THE HOT CHOCOLATE!)

The CM Gourmet Market and Café

580 Riverside Ave. Westport, CT 06880

www.cmgourmetmarket.com

FOLLOW CM Gourmet Market and Café on Twitter

LIKE CM Gourmet Market and Café on Facebook

This morning I woke up wanting a breakfast with a little kick to it and I also wanted to try out a new place that I saw when we reviewed Saugatuck Craft Butchery in our last post.  So both my wishes came true… but I got a third one when we got there … CHOCOLATE! Sweet, delicious HOT CHOCOLATE! And here’s why…

The CM in The CM Gourmet Market and Café stands for Cocoa Michelle.  Michelle Weber is a well-know chocolate maker here in Westport.  She has a small café and chocolate shop right across from the Westport train station that is really popular with commuters, and now she and her husband Frank have opened an terrific market and café.

When you first walk in you see an almost endless supply of goodies like maple syrup, spices, her own coffee, pasta and other yummy treats.  There’s also fresh pastas, vegetables, prepared food to go… and an amazing cheese selection.   Then you go back into the café…. where you feel like you’re in your own home.  Everyone is really friendly and it was filled with customers including a lot of kids (She also had Wiki-Stix which kids love). But the food was exceptional!

Here’s what I had…

IMG_0460

Pulled Pork Sweet Potato Hash

Which is made from Pulled Pork, Sweet Potatoes, Piquillo Peppers, Cippolini Onions, Pimentón, and it was topped with a Sunny-Side Up Duck Egg!

The pork was really tender, and the peppers and sweet potatoes made it both hot AND sweet.  So I did get the kick that I was looking for.  Even though, I never had one, the duck egg didn’t taste any different than a chicken egg, but it was a bit bigger- and when you mix in with the the pork and potatoes it makes the whole experience better.

To drink I had a freshly made Cocoa Michelle’s Hot Chocolate which is made with her cocoa and steamed milk – it was just like the ones I had in Europe. When I told Ms. Weber how good it was she gave me some of their really thick chocolate the kind you usually dunk churros in…

IMG_0462It was SO rich… my dad had to take it away from me — but I think he did that so he could drink it himself 🙂

Dad had…

IMG_0461

Omelet Très Soigné

Which is a 3 egg omelet, with crushed rosemary-marble potatoes, buttered brioche with goat cheese & fines herbes – he loved it.

IMG_0464I spoke with Michelle Weber, the owner and asked her about how she got started in the food business

“My mom was a chef, so I was always surrounded by good food.  When I moved away from home, I need to find something that I could do that was different so I could bring something home for her for family dinners, so I started making chocolate.”  

“When I opened Cocoa Michelle, a lot of the commuters started asking me to serve food as well, so we listened to them.  And since I live close to here, there really wasn’t a good market nearby, so my husband and I decided to open the Market and Café.

I also asked Ms. Weber what she liked for breakfast…

“I love what you had, the Pulled Pork Sweet Potato Hash”.

That seems really popular, cause our server really loved that too!

The Sunday Diner Rating (out of 5)

FOOD  * * * * * (5)

SERVICE  * * * * *   (5)

LOOKS: * * * * *   (5)

BATHROOM: * * * * *   (5)

Thanks so much Mr. and Ms. Weber!

3 thoughts on “CM GOURMET MARKET AND CAFÉ IN WESTPORT IS MORE THAN JUST CHOCOLATE… (BUT DEFINITELY HAVE THE HOT CHOCOLATE!)

Leave a Reply

