GET STUFFED! AT THE CORNER RESTAURANT IN MILFORD CT

The Corner Restaurant

105 River Street, Milford CT

www.thecornerbrunch.com

I had heard that The Corner Restaurant in Milford was named The Best French Toast in Connecticut by Connecticut Magazine, and since most of you regular readers know that I LOVE French Toast — we HAD to try it and good thing we got there early!

The Corner is in Milford, close to the train station, and across from the Wepawaug River.  It’s a pretty part of town.  The Corner is a cute and cozy place that is decorated to make you feel at home.

We sat down and checked out the menu, which had a lot of exotic choices, but today I was hungry for their award-winning Stuffed French Toast.

I had “The Trio” (which won the award) and is…

IMG_3074

  • 1 slice of Apple, Cinnamon,  Raisin and Cream Cheese Stuffed French Toast
  • 1 slice of Strawberry & Banana Stuffed French Toast
  • 1 piece of Tres Leches Vanilla Cake with Whipped Cream and Fresh Strawberries
  • Fresh Maple Syrup

Everything was delicious, but I liked the Tres Leches cake the best – I have to be honest – it was as good, maybe even better than what I had in Mexico.  It was really an award winner with me, and like the French Toast I was STUFFED!

Dad had the Eggs Benedict… I tried them and they were… Eggcellent! 🙂

IMG_3075

The restaurant was really busy, but we were lucky to get there early and got a table.  Soon, there was a line of hungry people out the door.  Even though it was busy, I was able to speak with Michelle Lebel who has owned The Corner with her husband, Amer for 17 years, and was super nice to me!

IMG_3082

Of course, I asked her what her favorite was…

“I love spicy things, my favorite dish is the South Indian Spiced Pulled Duck”.  

Why do you use so many exotic things on your menu?

“I think that food that might be weird to us, might be normal somewhere else in the world. I like new tastes, so we try to make our menu somewhat different from most places.” 

“This Mother’s Day,  The Corner will have a special menu with some great new things like Alligator Jambalaya, South African Hash, and lots of Crab dishes… It’s our most popular day of the year… so get here early!”

IMG_3081

Michelle’s Favorite

The South Indian Spiced Pulled Duck Wrapped In A Bacon Layered Tortilla      With Scrambled Eggs and A Mild Cheese

Thanks Michelle for an awesome breakfast and taking the time to speak with us.  I also want to thank our server Jill who was great!

IMG_3080

The Sunday Diner Rating (out of 5)

FOOD * * * * * (5)

SERVICE * * * * * (5)

LOOKS: * * * *  (4)

BATHROOM: * * * * (4)

 

2 thoughts on “GET STUFFED! AT THE CORNER RESTAURANT IN MILFORD CT

  1. Pingback: WE CAM E BACK LATER TO CHOMP ON SOME GATOR! AT THE CORNER RESTAURANT IN MILFORD | Sunday Diners

Leave a Reply

